Invest in Galveston, TX STR

14 Replies

I'm looking to purchase a STR in Galveston. I'm a real estate broker and I live in Pearland. I've run some numbers and seems as though it's a great opportunity to get some decent cash flow and personal enjoyment. Below is what I've come up with. What am I missing. Are there any experienced investors out there that would like to meet to discuss?

There are a few things to take into account not mentioned. First is going to be HOT taxes on rental income. Here in Galveston, the total taxes are 15% (6% state & 9% city). 

Another thing not mentioned is insurance on the property. Depending on the property, you typically need flood, windstorm, & liability.

Also water bill & sewage from the city.

One important question: you mentioned HOA in your cost. Do the HOA bylaws allow for STR?

I'd be happy to help a bit with numbers if you can give me an idea of the property and its location

Timothy Church, Real Estate Agent in TX (#668626)
409-877-4159

I was looking at Beachside Village. I assume there were no HOA issues since I saw other homes in the subdivision listed as STRs. The mortgage payment was an estimate but it was PITI. I live in Brazoria County and we have to have windstorm insurance so I guessed based on what I'm paying. Of course, the insurance may be higher because of the location. Just trying to figure it out. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

There are some great homes there. We actually rented one on the beach the next set over for a family reunion. They can be great performers if done right. 

If you want to sit down to discuss things sometime, I'd be happy to meet with you. Have a few appointments that will be bringing me up to the Webster area next week. If you feel like making the trip down here, my schedule is flexible.

I have a subscription to AirDNA for the island since I deal with STRs down here. Be happy to go over the data with you when we meet.