STR Deal Calculator Tool

14 Replies

I am brand new to investing and my passion is in hospitality so I am looking to start with a STR. I know there is a tool here to determine if a long term rental is a "deal" but I want to know where to begin in finding a deal on a STR. Any help is appreciated...thanks!

Would you be able to use the same calculator? A rental should be the same formula, income vs. expense. You'll need a little more information with an STR such as average daily rental and occupancy rates. As long as you have that info you should be able to determine the viability of the property.

Gross rent for the first 26 occupied weeks should pay for the purchase price of the house.  That's how I do it.  6 months of full rent should pay for the house.  But being realistic, it's going to take 8-12 months to get 6 full months of rent.  I've only done it twice (getting the purchase price back in the first 6 months).  YMMV.

@Gary Huber

I don't think the BP calculator does it, but there are other calculators for buy & hold properties that allow you to specify rent on a per week or per day basis, which is more suitable for what you're looking for. Other than that, the basic analysis would be same - just make sure you're using realistic vacancy and other expense estimates.

I use the calculator on my phone. If it won’t gross 2.5% + pick a different market. I’m in the smokys.

Originally posted by @Lucas Carl:

I use the calculator on my phone. If it won’t gross 2.5% + pick a different market. I’m in the smokys.

Awesome!  I am in the Smokies as well.  Good place to get started?

When I don't use the abacus on my desk, I use the slide rule I keep in my shirt pocket.  If it won't pay for itself in 6 months of gross rent, the house is too expensive.  I'm in the worst place to live in Kansas.