Is 45 years old too late to be financially free?

58 Replies

I just turned 45 in May and finally bought my first rental property this past March 2019. My wife and I started our own vacation rental business . Although this is the slow season in Big Bear Lake Ca, where our STR is located we've been booking almost every weekend but we still have a lot to learn. I work for the Disney company as a professional designer but I want more for my wife and myself. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COMES TO MORE TIME WITH MY WIFE.

I make a six figure income and have a 401k I can liquidate to buy more properties but I’m a newbie to real state investing and I’m hoping I’m not to late in life to learn a strategy and retire early.

@Mark Page .

1. I would ask this question in the general forum don't limit yourself to us STR folks.

2. How many rich uncles do you have?

3. The fact that you actually want to spend time with your wife is more amazing than being financially free.

4. Looks like you're trying to be an STR PM? I'd rather work for Disney than manage other people's STRs

5. What is financially free? This is greatly different for everyone. To replace your 6 figure income you need 8333 passive income per month. Let’s say each door cash flows $500 per month you only need 15 doors. I’ve got 15 doors and I’m a moron. If you want Lamborghinis and Prada you’ll need to call the rich uncle and partner up.

6. Set goals! I would start with a goal of 1 non fiction book per week.

One word answer to your question..... No.

Good luck!

*this was typed on an iPhone 

It isn't too late, but I doubt you will be able to replace your income with rentals. STR make more money, but they take more time than long term rentals. Why not look at some multifamily homes such as a duplex? You won't be cash flowing as much, but you will have more time to spend with your wife and depending on the numbers and how quickly you pay off the mortgage, in 15 years you could sell it and pocket the money.

Promotion