Just starting out with a short term rental, 2nd home.

32 Replies

I am just now purchasing a 2nd home zoned for short term rentals in St. Augustine with a great STR rental history. It's exciting and nerve wracking at the same time. I would like to keep moving in this direction with a 5-10 year plan to acquire more as long as I find the right ones that are also able to rent long term if laws change. I am very very new to this, looking for guidance on what pace to keep and are you able to finance more than a few homes? I've been reading a lot of posts on here and just trying to absorb as much information as I can. Thank you in advance.

You won’t get more than 1 10% down second home in your current market. If you didn’t put 10% down not much reason to do a second home loan because you’ll only get one 10%er might as well have done an investment loan. Questions to ask your lender. If your lender doesn’t own any property get rid of them. And yes, it’s ok to ask them how many doors they own. 

Best piece of advice.... even if you lose money it’s worth it. You have to dive in. 

Congratulations on jumping in, @Mike Monisky ! I hope you'll be able to both keep up that great STR performance and learn from the experience at the same time. Full disclosure: STRs are addictive. Once you've got that one cash flowing, you'll want to roll that cash into another... and another... or at least that's what happened to me. :) Once you feel comfortable with your first one, start looking around to see if you want to stay in St. Augustine or if you might want to branch out to another market. I bought four STRs in ~14 months in two markets, zero regrets. Quit my W-2 off the cash flow and my only regret is now I'm living off the cash flow instead of using it to buy another STR.

Best of luck!

@Lucas Carl thank you for the advice! This isn’t something I would have known to ask. Yes we put 10% down. How much do the investment loans typically require down?

@Julie McCoy