STR application question?

7 Replies

There's going to be 5000 contractors coming through my town in the next 10 months.  I've never done a rental application before, but I think it might be a good time to start.  Before I give anyone an application, they are going to get a drug screen from me.  I'll see their I.D. and write down their S.S. and phone number on a drug screen form.  This is just for new people I've never rented to before.  If it's a previous tenant on good standing, I'm not going to mess with the application.  Their phone # is already in my list of contacts.

So my question is, do you think there is anything else I should include on the application?  The top part of the form is more or less telling them what all is included and for how much.  The bottom part just gives me names and phone numbers.  Every guy is going to make $60-$120 per day per diem, it just depends on what kind of job they do.  Scaffold builder, $60.  Boilermaker, $120.

Could you rely on the refinery's drug testing? Would they provide you with that on all tentative renters? What about a duration? I know that so far things have been very reliable (relative) but maybe add a duration with a clause to add days as needed?

@Michael Baum   The refinery sending their contractors to the clinic I work at is a pretty solid deal.  We are quick.  In and out in 15 minutes.  2 other medical facilities in this town take up to 2 hours.  Time is money.

If they take their drug screen before they come to my town, I will never have a chance to meet them.  

Length of stay?  I quit asking people that question many years ago.  Whatever answer they tell me has no validity or accuracy.  I've had people tell me the jobs lined up will take 2 months, but they are gone in 10 days.  I've had people tell me they need a place to stay awhile, and they stay in the same place for 18 months (with a week or two off here and there).