Airbnb 1st time rental wants $ back for slow water pressure

14 Replies

I we during the property next to us into an air BNB and rented it out for a month Two weeks after we posted the property.    Wasn't expecting and in the middle of Michigan in the Winter and it has been a learning experience.   The renters Have said a few times if you take care of us will take care of you. Which makes me very leery. On Friday they contacted air BNB and said there  was mold, construction happening, and low water pressure.   We immediately went over to investigate.   The only issue is low water pressure in the kitchen.   We have called a plumber and I let them know.  They now want compensation as its intruding on their months holiday. They got a great deal, about $35 a night (I'm learning) What should I do?

@Luann Renteria I'm not experienced with Airbnb, but I do have some experience in the hospitality industry.  Nowadays, it's often easier to give a slight credit to a customer than it is to fight with them and then have them post negative information about you and your business online.  How much of a credit are they looking for?  If it's a nominal amount, it might be easier just giving it to them.  Was the low water pressure something that you were aware of before you listed the property for rent?

Unscrew the sinks aerator.  There is probably some calcium build up or other debris in the aerator.  If that does fix it, there could be some debris in the valve where the handle is.  Just shut off the water supply and disassemble the valves.  
One of my 2 story houses had that problem.  If someone was using water downstairs, the shower in the upstairs bathroom would get no water.  Turns out the main water valve by the meter wasn't turned on completely.  You should be able to fix this yourself.  If you can't, you need to get out of the STR business.