Analyzing Short Term Rentals

17 Replies

Hello All, My husband and I are looked to buy a short term rental in the Smokies in the next few months. I have gotten pretty good at analyzing long term rentals but have a feeling I am leaving things out when analyzing short term. Is anyone willing to share any spreadsheets they use to analyze properties? 

Hi @Nicole Vincent

I'm a newbie when it comes to STRs, but jumped in with both feet after some long discussions with Avery and Luke Carl. I still don't have a spreadsheet or really any clue on how best to analyze a STR property, so if others are willing to share, I may borrow it as well :) I just know that we bought our cabin back in November and we haven't regretted it one bit. In fact we're looking at getting our second property either there in the Pigeon Forge area or the Branson, MO area here in the next couple of months. I am anxious to see what our first year rounds out to be. Best of luck to you. We love the Smokies!

Paul

Hi Nicole! There really is no black and white answer to that. I was on a call with some investors the other day about multifamily, and the presenter walked us through his spreadsheet. At the end of the call several people asked if they could have a copy of his spreadsheet. He told us that he does not share his spreadsheets because they are built around how HIS brain works and it spits out the information that is most important to HIM, which may not align with other people's brains.

There is no hard and fast formula that determines whether or not a property is a good investment for YOU. What you can do is gather all the income and expense numbers that you can from all the data sources that you can, subtract your expenses from your potential income, and if the number at the end of the formula is one that makes enough sense for you to make that down payment, then there is your answer.