SF - renting by room

8 Replies

It sounds like renting by the room is a great strategy for single family, but what happens when you have to move out? Correct me if I'm wrong, as I'm new to real estate and the Denver market, but I believe most surrounding areas allow up to 5 unrelated people to live in a single family house. Does that mean you are still able to rent by the room if you move out, or do you have to be living there as your primary for that to be a viable strategy?

Hey @Brian Wiggins , welcome to the forum. Do you own this home? You will have to look at the regs, but what you are proposing does work. Sometimes you have to be living on site in order to make this work.

In Colorado, each city and/or county has its own occupancy limits. Some impose greater restrictions than others; for example, Denver only allows two unrelated persons to reside in a house. When identifying properties, you should speak with an attorney regarding occupancy limits for that particular property, as well as to determine if there are restrictions imposed by an HOA, etc. Some people do choose to continue to rent by the bedroom once they move out; however, there may be limitations on this as well (e.g., based on the loan type).

*NOT LEGAL ADVICE*

@Brian Wiggins as @Drew Fein mentioned there can be some restrictions. In our area Denver and Englewood are the most restrictive on unrelated limits being set at 2 (with Denver somewhat allowing 3, but they're also working to potentially increase this). The surrounding areas vary, but the most common is 4 unrelated, followed by 5 and some that base theirs off of bedrooms sqft/count and some other factors. It's still a very viable strategy around the metro area even after moving out of the property and renting it fully.

I've got multiple clients that have moved on from their 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc home. Find a tenant you like, make them the manager, and move out.