Investing in Tulum?

17 Replies

Hi all, newbie here with a few questions regarding investing in STRs in Tulum. I’ve been evaluating a few different recommended markets for STRs (Florida panhandle, Smoky Mountains etc) and I’ve found that from a numbers perspective, Tulum has the most potential for returns, here’s why:

1. You can buy a pre-sale hotel-condominium with resort like services and property management features for 100-150k. These have potential to easily go for $100+ a night. I don't know much about management fees, but from what I've found is that they rival HOAs in popular STR markets

2. Tulum is growing very quickly and it’s easy to find developers who are building new condo-hotels left and right. I know that supply must meet demand but it seems like the growth in Tulum has a ton of potential to aid in appreciation

3. Real-estate in Tulum has been heavily impacted by Covid thus slashing prices.

I’d love for someone to point out what I’m missing in my current analysis and let me know what the risks are

I can't speak to Tulum directly at all, unfortunately.   On the surface it sounds like a good idea with little risk.

But my grandfather invested in Honduras for a rental/vacation spot several years ago.  He went down there for weeks at a time during construction and he basically ended up with a substandard house that a river all but washed away after a big storm.  The developer said "sorry" and moved on to his next project. 

I'd be worried about pre-construction projects for your own safety.   I'd with a proven developer or an existing condo,  though.

@Justin Anderson

Mexico is no Honduras. Many developers are reputable.

@Arwin Nassiri

I’d avoid condotels. Very expensive for what it is and you have hardly any control. Plus their rental projections are generally wildly inflated. I’d go for a real condo itself and avoid those that have a rental pool (unless you want to have nothing to do of course).