Liability Protection : Short Term Rental ADU on PrimaryResidence

12 Replies

Hi,

I am planning on setting up 2 rental ADU on my property in Seattle, it's a 1/2 Acre Lot so space is not a constraint, but I need some inputs on liability protection strategies anyone has implemented for a short term rental ADU on your primary residence backyard.

For instance, Are there options to split the lot and sell the ADU Occupied land to a LLC, and this LLC is operating the Rental Units in the backyard? So in case of a lawsuit, it would be separated from any equity in the primary residence?

Thanks

@Ekta D., I am not a lawyer, and you will need a RE lawyer for that. You can discuss with the lawyer the option of creating a condo-association and have the main unit and the DADU as a condo association. Then the DADU can be movedsold to LLC.

THe lawyer will give you more details about this option

Hey @Ekta D., that is a very complex thing IMHO. @Sherief Elbassuoni hit the nail on the head. You need an attorney for this.

I doubt you can subdivide a city lot in Seattle. Unless it is a 5 acre parcel somewhere, but that would be a multi million dollar property.

In regards to creating a condo association, that could complicate the sale of the property down the road. I am not a lawyer, but this sounds like it could be a problem.

@Ekta D. Why don't you get STR host insurance policy instead. Much simpler solution IMO. You just have to make sure it's STR host policy and not a regular landlord long term rental policy. If you are not sure how to navigate insurance policies, try to get an insurance broker to give you all available STR insurance options.

If you are still determined to proceed with splitting the lot, whether it is possible or does it even make sense, will be determined by local RE laws and ordinances. Wouldn’t monkey with them and get a lawyer as others have said.