To invest in a Atlanta apartment for a Airbnb? You’re thoughts?

4 Replies

Hi my name is Brianna. I'm a newbie at REI in Charlotte,nc. I travel a lot to Atlanta and had a serious thought about investing in a apartment by either renting and subletting or purchasing a apartment and renting it out to air bnb type platforms and traveling professionals. The market that I've did some research in has a high rate of profits in Atlanta vs Charlotte. Any thoughts? I'm open

Purchase and rent it out as an STR. Have a back up plan for a LTR. I'm sure others will have different opinions.

Hey @Brianna Chisholm . I agree with @Paul Sandhu . If you can buy, then that is the way to go. Atlanta seems to have a great market for real estate. Good value increases and the like.

The biggest issue you want to make sure of is the building HOA/Board or whatever it might have. Does it allow short term rentals? Are there others in the building doing that? If the HOA decides to not allow STR's after you get started, can you afford to keep it?

What I would do is get on AirBNB and VRBO and check for apartments/condo's in your specific area. See how many are in a certain building and their rates/occupancy. That will give you a pretty good idea of the market and if a specific building allows short term rentals.

Good luck with your project! I think if you buy, you will do well!

Hey @Brianna Chisholm . I hear you on that, but we kinda frown on that around here. It's called arbitrage and it leaves you open to changes that you have no control over. For example, what if the HOA decides to ban STR's. If you own it, you can just turn it into a LTR and are good to go. Still making some cashola and building equity.