Any advices on STR of Poconos area

9 Replies

I am a newbie and just about to put down an offer. I read some post that was a couple years ago and didn't suggest Poconos area. I don't know if things changes because of the pandemic. Anyone runs STR during last year?

The house that I want to purchase is on Airbnb right now and I run the numbers on Airdna and it turns out pretty good. It's not lake-front but it is lake accessible. Cute 3br chalet. I saw many people saying OCC is only 25% while it listes 60% on Airdna. How accurate is Airdna?

Thanks

Hi Kano, welcome to the community!  I've been running STRs in the Poconos for a couple years now and had a great experience so far. I can't speak to the accuracy of AirDNA's data, although I think it has gotten quite a bit better over the past few years.  I do think their overall occupancy rating can be skewed a bit because they can't distinguish between days that went are rented or days that the owner took the house off the market for personal use.  Lots of owners in the Poconos rent part-time and use their homes, so it can be hard to get an accurate read.  

Overall, Covid has REALLY skewed the numbers in the region.  Our places have been over 90% occupied in the past year, but we were closer to 65% prior to that.  I expect the numbers to climb back to earth a little in the fall, but the region has definitely experienced a lot of positive growth and publicity in the past year, so I believe demand will remain robust.

That said, underwrite conservatively to make sure your numbers work at a low occupancy rate/nightly rate and be pleasantly surprised when you do better!

Where in the region did you put in your offer?  I'm always happy to meet fellow investors!

Good luck!

Scott

I agree with @Scott Rankin , you rather plan a base case, worst case and best case scenarios.