• Florence, KY
Votes |
AirBNB: Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

James M Palovich
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Florence, KY
Posted Sep 13 2021, 10:33

Hey everyone! 

I am an investor and REALTOR from Kentucky. I am looking invest in an AirBNB on myrtle beach as my first investment property. I am using the AirBNB tool here on BiggerPockets to help my analyze the properties to see if it would be profitable for me. Does anyone local or who has invested there have any information that I should know or anything that can help me make a decision. 

thank you!

User Stats

Votes
John Underwood
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Replied Sep 13 2021, 10:39

Buy a beachfront house, not a condo.

Condos to rent are a dime a dozen. So rental prices are very competitive. 

Be pet friendly to appeal to the masses.

I have a beach front house in Myrtle Beach rented for later this month.

User Stats

Votes
Jaron Walling
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Indianapolis, IN
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Indianapolis, IN
Replied Sep 13 2021, 10:55

I agree with @John Underwood  My GF and I were just in Myrtle Beach for vacation and stayed in a condo. 

It was nice but looking at it from an investors prospective I'm not sure I'd buy one. We were on the 12 floor with a view but it wasn't amazing. Obviously you pay for best views or enjoyment of an entire house. As an investor I choose house. I'd accept a short walk to the beach over the view. Some of the condos are great but don't forget the PM, parking lot security, HOA's, etc. I'm guessing it's more than just owning a vacation home... I mean AirBnB property.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Nancy Bender