Insurance for short term rentals

13 Replies

I am brand new to real estate investing and was wondering what is the best way to go about insurance that will cover me and my assets for my short term rental through airbnb or Vrbo.  Thank you for any advice!

Tyler

Tyler this is a great question. Most folks new to STRs are unaware that a traditional homeowners policy doesn't work.  You need a commercial policy since you are basically running a hotel.  Ten years ago, the market of insurers for overnight rentals was very limited.  Now there are maybe ten players in the market.  I would go to CBIZ or Southpoint Risk.  I have never seen a competitive quote from Proper.  Foremost is an actual insurer.  You want to go to an agency that shops various insurers and finds the overall best deal.

You also want to make certain that your replacement amount is accurate.  Three years ago, I had a small cabin that burned to the ground in a forest fire and thought I had plenty of insurance - $210K - to cover the replacement.  The actual replacement cost:  $330K.  Not a good surprise.  It's better to pay a few dollars and over-insure, rather than save a few dollars and cut it too close.

Hi Tyler,

I would highly recommend that you KEEP you current homeowners' insurance. Its important to make sure your home is protected first. Then I would treat additional STR insurance as a second layer of protection. I currently use Proper Insurance for my assets however, I have heard good things about Safely, and a third option is Slice by Progressive for an inclusive insurance policy.

Originally posted by @Joshua Adegboye :

Hi Tyler,