Seeking advice : New investor in Los Angeles Market

32 Replies

Hi BP members! Hello! I'm very new to the industry and trying to seek advices in rental property investments . From my brief study, cap rates ranges from 3.5~4.7% in general. Not sure if it's good time to invest or hold capital for downturn. New tax rate will bring down to 20% for LLC so it's a good thing but the price is high so wanted to see if it's better to hold my hat and learn more till we have the down cycle. In the mean time, I could flip few $500k houses to generate profits. Any comments or advice will be greatly appreciated. Also, is there a meet for Los Angeles BP members? Thank you very much!

Welcome @Colin Lee ! I am also located in Los Angeles. Bruce Norris of the Norris Group will be speaking at the 2018 Real Estate Summit in Glendale on January 10th. His presentation that will help you out is entitled, "Stay Put or Cash Out in 2018? Critical Insight for Real Estate Investors in 2018" There are many speakers and booths and it's free to attend. Here's the venue and agenda: http://www.roberthalltaxes.com/expo2018/

I'm not aware of any BP specific meet ups but here is a great list of meet ups in California: https://www.biggerpockets.com/rei/california-real-estate-investment-clubs/

Happy investing and feel free to reach out.

Hi Kuba These info really helps :) Thank you very much! 

I going to way  in here. The flipping at that price point makes sense as that range is so demanded and movable and I guess if the market goes sideways one would think very rentable. Right now we are in a real weird spot of the market. This stage of the cycle one must think longer term and really research areas that can with stand a downturn so value add is real key.

In general if you try to "time the market" it won't work out, but if you are careful about where you put your money you should do well over the long run.

Originally posted by @Jo-Ann Lapin :