Anyone active in Santa Barbara, CA?

22 Replies

Looking for any Santa Barbara (or nearby) BP folks who have any kind of experience to share (especially with house hacking or new ADUs). Have listened to BP podcasts and other financial independence materials but pretty much new to the real estate game. 

Considering purchasing first property as primary residence but uncomfortable thinking I'm wasting my resources just because this is the only area I know! Eager to take action (house hack) though conscious that there are not "deals" in a market like Santa Barbara. Am I correct to be apprehensive of my steps? Is my only option to get familiar with other areas to live in (at least while house hacking)?

Any sincere suggestions for nearby or comparatively desirable areas of growth to consider?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Emi!

I’m a realtor in SB...there’s deals to be had but you’ll most likely have to find them off market. If I can be of help, please don’t hesitate to reach out!

@Chad Beuoy Thanks for being the one person to respond! What would you advise using as resources and avenues for off-market deals?

Note to self and anyone else who may stumble upon this thread: Some of my questions (sort of) were addressed over here https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/55/topics/522447-neophyte-from-santa-barbara-and-los-angeles-ca

Thanks @Logan Allec for the hopeful response. How long was your commute? Was the "off the beaten path" location enough to make the price right, or were there other special factors that made it a deal? Would love to hear how you were searching and how you found it.