SFH in Campbell, BayArea - Sell or Rent?

19 Replies

We are moving out of our primary SFH (bought 6 years ago) in the Campbell area, and are deciding between selling it or letting it out for rent (fully managed by a third party ~ 7% fee). Given that the we have had double digit appreciation the past few years, I thnk it is very unlikely that this will continue. Putting some numbers into the rental calculator, it seems that almost all of the IRR is from the expected property appreciation:

I will not be cash flow positive till the property is sold. If I compare the Schiller SFBayArea median home price vs S&P500/NASDAQ, the percentage increase since 2000 seems to be about the same. This makes it even more confusing on how to proceed.

I am a newbie, and would really appreciate some pointers here if I am missing anything. 

Thanks,

Sam

Updated almost 2 years ago

Edit 1: For tax purposes, the rental income (~40k) can only be offset by about 25k of depreciation. So I will need to pay around 50% of (40k-25k) in additional taxes, which would lower the IRR further.

Your management cost seems a bit too high you can probably find someone to do it for around 5% in the Bay Area, your repairs budget is decent as a percentage but comes out high as a dollar value, Vacancy of 5% is also a tad high for the bay area. Also 1% appreciation is extremely low even in no growth markets most people use 3% (inflation average) for calculations. You could refinance to make it cash flow positive. In addition I have no idea what "other cost" is in this scenario.

Aaron, many thanks for the input. 

1. In my mind, the home appreciation should be about the same as the S&P. So I am trying to compare renting the home, vs. selling and moving the money into an index fund. So I am considering a 0% appreciation in the calculation below.
  2. Other costs are the maintenance costs (we have a 10k lot and lot of yard maintenance) - $100 a month, so $1200 a year.