Hello from Davao Philippines!

8 Replies

Maayong adlaw! Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum. In fact, this is my first time to join a forum on real estate. I just started on this business a few months back. I am an Architect by profession, thus I don't consider my joining the real estate business a 180-degree shift from my profession. They're quite inter-related, the latter I find even more challenging. I hope I'm welcome here.

Again, hello! I know my joining here will be extremely informative on my part. I hope I can impart something, too.

Mabuhay!!!

Hey there! Welcome from the Phillipines. Are you considering real estate investment in the US or at home? What are things like there? Are many of the rules and regulations similar? Please share with us. I think it would be interesting for everyone!

Hi everyone. Sorry for the late reply. Thanks for welcoming me.

I am considering real estate in the Philippines, particularly in Mindanao- where Davao City and Samal Island are.

Real estate in the Philippines, particularly in Davao City, is in the upswing. In fact, for more or less a decade, it recorded last year as the highest in terms of sales and investment. Some foreigners, though, don't like the laws here in real estate, particularly that which states that foreigners are not allowed to own any real property here (except a condominium). Any property bought by them should be titled under the name of their Filipino espouse. Other foreigners, however, are buying properties here despite these laws. They just love it here, especially the beachfront properties and those which are overlooking Davao Gulf.

Thank you everyone!