New REI from Center City Philadelphia, PA

6 Replies

Hi Everyone,

My name is John, and this is my first (second?) post on BP. I'm in my late 20s, but only started working my 9-5 (7-4 in my case) 3 years ago and I'm supporting my fiancee through school, so I'm still working on putting away cash for my first investment.

I plan on starting a few posts to ask specific questions but I'll just explain a little bit about what my goals are here.

I'm planning on partnering with one or two friends for financing, as well as getting some private money from family to help with the initial downpayment on a multifamily in and around the area, ideally within 1.5 hours of Philly, perhaps up to king of prussia, or down to newark, delaware. I'm looking for properties in class A or B areas, with a preference on cashflow. I'd like to manage the property myself.

As for myself, I'm a Mechanical Engineer working in KOP, graduated from UD and plan on moving out west (washington, oregon, colorodo, etc.) once my financee is finished with school.

Not sure if there's anything else I'm missing, but if so, please feel free to ask. I look forward to chatting with you on the forums!

Thanks, @Michael Graham 

I should probably add that I'd really like to get into the buy - fix - hold strategy (for multifamilies). I don't really want another full time job, more of an ideally relatively passive investment. 

I'm looking into notes as well, but if my math is right, on a purely cashflow property, my gains will be significantly greater with a rental than they will be with the note.

Promotion
Avail
Landlording made easy.
Best-in-Class Platform for DIY Landlords
List unlimited units, screen tenants, draft and sign leases, and collect rent—all free.
Use Avail—Free!