User Stats

Votes
Jake Joiner
Votes |
Introductory Book from Carbondale, IL Newbie

Jake Joiner
Posted Aug 3 2008, 10:46

Where to start...

I'm 26, married for almost three years to the best wife a man could have, and we have a 1-year-old daughter. We hope to have many children (I come from a family of 9 and she's the oldest of 8 ).

I'm a Christian, and active in our local church (Sunday School teacher, bookkeeper, regular attendee, tithing member, etc.).

That's a good place to start. The above is the stuff that matters most to me.

We rent. Low rent on not-the-greatest house (old and poorly laid out), but good neighborhood and good landlord. It's working well right now.

I like word games, reading, playing with my wife and baby (in different ways, of course), and I like gadgets (PDA's, laptops, etc.).

I got my bachelor's degree via distance learning in less than a year's study time (and it's a real degree, regional accreditation and all). My wife did the same. We have no debt, despite our degrees, in large part due to the low costs of this method of education.

I'm currently a customer support rep for a technology company. I don't hate my job (I dislike it when people say they hate their jobs), but I have no desire to continue here long-term. I don't particularly support the mission of the company, being opposed to government funding of the type we solicit, so that makes work here less fun than it may have been otherwise. But I personally don't have to solicit it.