Hello from Chicago, IL!

16 Replies

Hello BP,

My name is Matt Koczwara. I am a longtime resident of the Chicagoland area and a new member of the Bigger Pockets community. I have recently graduated from The Ohio State University and I am currently working in suburban Chicago.

I am lucky enough to have the opportunity to save aggressively straight out of college and want to use these savings to invest in a owner-occupied multiplex.

I am looking forward to engaging in the community and learning from its mentors and members. My main goal is to utilize real estate as a vehicle for financial independence.

Thanks for reading!

- Matt

@Matthew Koczwara

Welcome to bigger pockets. I do have to ask, why "THE" before Ohio State University? I have always and will always view that as a statement of nothing short of arrogance. 

Be proud of your school, yes, but it is said in a way to belittle other schools, in my opinion.

With that said, an owner occupied multi-unit is definitely a worthy aspiration for you. I know many people that have utilized the FHA 203k Loan program that allows acquisition and renovation costs with as little as about 3.5% down I believe. That could allow you to haev your savings towards other investments giving you a larger return when you add all the investments in.

Good luck to you!

@Matthew Koczwara

Glad to have you onboard Matthew. The route you want to take to get started is an excellent one. I am currently on my second owner occupied property and doing the multiunit  (4) thing.

What area are you trying to focus on? Turnkey multis are hot in chicago right now (in good neighborhoods) and its easy to overpay if you are not careful. Keep an eye on HUD and Fannie properties because owner occupants get first crack at them so they are a great way to go.

Good Luck!!

Originally posted by @Dale Stevens :

@Matthew Koczwara