Detroit- Foreign Investor

28 Replies

Hello Fellow BP'ers and especially Detroiters,

I am an architect and an RE investor from Israel.

Although I have been involved in the building industry for around 20 years, (mainly as an architect but also with RE investment experience locally, in the UK and a little in South Africa), I am relatively new to the US market.

I have been following the posts and podcasts on this site for a while, and am really impressed with the length and breadth of the information and networking available.

As you are probably guessing I was tempted into the Detroit market like a lot of others, seeking alternatives to relative low returns elsewhere, and promises of 2 figure ROI with ease.

Well, I now own a small portfolio of 4 homes in Detroit, which has posed a very challenging learning curve for me, and while it has not been a disaster as yet, it is far from what I was hoping.

It has taken a lot of hard work (and obviously more money than expected), but it would appear that I am now beginning to see some light at the end of the tunnel.

Despite my difficult start, I still belong to the school of believers in Metro Detroit and in its future, and am not averse to increasing my portfolio, but am doing it far more carefully now.

I am planning a short visit to Detroit next month to review where I am, and where I am going, and would be more than happy to meet local players with a view to learning, partnering or just sharing insights.

Thanks a lot,

Saul

@Saul L. , Detroit can be a rough place. It is definitely a place where you need boots on the ground or someone you can trust to be your boots on the ground. The neighborhoods can vary street to street.

Plan on spending a lot of time just driving around and actually viewing your properties and other potential properties. Pay close attention to the neighborhoods. It is possible to make money in Detroit, but it isn't as easy as it looks on paper. Good luck!