Newbie Houston Texas

9 Replies

Hello everyone!!!!!  I am Marsha Chan-Thomas and I am very excited to be a part of BP!  I am new to real estate investing and I am located in Houston, TX.  I have no past real estate investing experience, but I have been educating myself through the Fortune Builders Mastery program.  I have worked in sales, marketing, and customer service and I have always wanted to get into the real estate business, so I finally made the leap three months ago.  At this time I am interested in rehabbing, wholesaling, and networking with other RE professionals to learn the business.  My immediate goal is to do this business full time and retire my job, and in the longer term to build up some capital and invest in some rentals for passive income.  I am now trying to build my team and find my first deal, and would appreciate any guidance for my success.  Capital for investing is my main area of concern as well as the keys to learning the market.

Hey Marsha so welcome to BP, you will find a lot of interesting stuff on here to help you through your journey. Me like you am also new to the business, but love your enthusiasm. I have trouble finding people in my inner circle or just people I know that have a passion about real estate investing like I do. Main reason for joining BP, I hear Houston is a really good market for rentals. Wish you the best of luck.

P.S never stop learning! 

@Marsha C.

Welcome. 

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.