New Investor in Hagerstown, MD & Montgomery County area

26 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm a new investor from a small town in Maryland. Just wanted to touch basis with some current investors in the Hagerstown & Montgomery County area! I just wanted to know if anyone had some tips for me as I begin my journey. You guys know how starting something new can make you feel.

Thanks in advance,

Ebonie

Welcome to BP @Ebonie Williams . I am a Realtor in your general area.  I do not own any properties in Hagerstown/Washington County, but I do own properties in Frederick and Montgomery County. (As well as other places).  I am kind of partial to Frederick myself.  I feel like I get solid returns there without the downside risk that Hagerstown or Baltimore might have.  Although it doesnt have the appreciation potential that Baltimore has either.  I get good appreciation in Montgomery County, but not much cash flow at all.

Welcome to BP @Ebonie Williams ! Hagerstown is a beautiful little town! I can't wait to hear about your experiences up there! I think @Russell Brazil is spot on. You will have some great CAP rates up in Hagerstown, but you will have little to no appreciation there. The opposite would be true in my neck of the woods (Gaithersburg).

Wherever you do decide to invest, trust your gut and yourself! You'll have a better feel for you local area then I will :)

Hi Ebonie,

I help investors buy properties in Washington and Frederick County. They are really two different markets. We look for buy and holds in Hagerstown and because Frederick has a quicker turn over that makes it better for Flipping. Those markets are so close but yet so different. I own rentals in Martinsburg WV which is very similar to Hagerstown but you avoid some of the extra regulation and taxes. Let me know if I can ever be of any help. I have some great market stats on those markets if you interested. Also @Mike Webb is very active in Hagerstown and may be of help to you as well....

Bill