Newbie from Scarborough, Canada

6 Replies

Hello,

I'm a newbie investor from Scarborough, Ontario, Canada. I'd like to know more about the proper way of investing in real estate and I'm open to new ideas. I had bought and sold 4 properties (one in the US) making a tidy profit in the past 25 years and recently I'd like to get into it full time. I'd like to do assignments/same-day closings/ flip deals in both countries, but I would like to concentrate more in the US.  Through various sources, I could find unique properties for investing (non-retail market value/in need of repairs/pre- and post foreclosures, etc.).  

I'm a retired system engineer and I had designed and setup systems in Ontario, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Pleasanton and North Carolina.   I had been an accountant and auditor prior to that. In the past six years I had written three spy thriller novels and most recently, I was commissioned by a Chinese school based in Toronto/Beijing/Shanghai to write a book for use by Mainland Chinese university-level students on their way to learn the English language.

It's time to find new cheese, which brought me to a new venture in real estate investing. I was surfing the net for real estate investing and somehow brought me here at BiggerPockets. I'd like to correspond with new friends and investors that could show me a few ideas to be a successful investor.  Thank you so much.

Alex Brillantes

Welcome to BP Alex, we're all happy to help you in any way we can. Sounds like you have had some great experiences in your lifetime as of this time. I live in NC and have one house beside my homestead of 13.6 acres. I'm fairly new to real estate myself but am always happy to greet our newbies. There are many people on here, that will help you with any questions you need answering. Again Alex welcome to BP

Originally posted by @Deborah Townsend :