Appraiser and Investor

10 Replies

BP Friends,

I am happy to be a part of this growing community of real estate enthusiasts. A little bit about me: I am a licensed CG (Certified General) real estate appraiser currently living in Searcy, Arkansas where I teach Finance and Real Estate at the college level. I hold an MBA from University of North Carolina and have work experience at CBRE (in commercial valuation), Ernst and Young ( in transaction real estate), and confounding a residential appraisal company (Texas Appraisal Services). I also held my real estate license in Texas. I have experience with both flips and buy and holds.

Long story short, I have done my investing on the residential side and currently own a couple residential rental units. I really want to grow this, specifically in the Dallas/Ft. Worth market. My goal is to one day own 100 units. I know DFW market well from my years spent doing appraisal work there, and I see that market being a great place to invest long term. 

I would love to meet as many of you as are open to it, specifically any investing in the DFW market. 

God bless you all,

Josiah Smelser

Welcome to BiggerPockets, Josiah Smelser. 

An appraiser/re instructor? You should make a LOT of new friends here on the site.

Have you set up your keyword alerts yet? Reserve at least one for your local area, to keep up with conversations and connect with investors in your area.

A few things about the site. We have these forums that you have already found, but did you know that we also have a blog? Written by investors much like you, they share their experiences and ideas.

Take a little time to poke around the site. We have a top-rated Podcast with new episodes every week. 

Welcome to the community. Are you a fellow Bison? I'm a relatively new investor in the Searcy area. I have an apartment building in Judsonia. What do you think about the Searcy market? What makes you choose DFW over your local market?

Hey Josiah Smelser