New Member from Minot, ND

6 Replies

Hello! I've been lurking around the BP forums for a bit and I've learned a lot so far! I'm a 31 year old veteran. I bought my first property when I was 25 using a VA loan. Shortly after closing I received orders to move overseas so I became an accidental landlord. I used my second VA loan to purchase a second home in Minot, ND because of a new military assignment. Now I work in the oil field and while my income is great, I work really long hours 6 days a week! I want to ditch my day job in 10 years or less so I can spend more time with my family.

Since I spent nearly 10 years in the military, I feel more inclined into investing for cash flow near military bases because I think I know that market very well. Military personnel are very easy to track and are strongly encouraged to maintain things in good condition. I am looking forward to interacting with you guys. Thank you for reading!

@Irwin Ayala

Welcome to BiggerPockets. I hope that our site can help you with all of your real estate investing goals - we've got a ton of real estate investing resources here!

Feel free to reach out to me with any and all questions you might have about BiggerPockets, investing, or using our platform!

@Irwin Ayala

Hi there, I’m new to the BiggerPockets community and I’m born and raised in Minot, ND. The military presence here is something that I’ve known for my entire life and I’m very interested in becoming and investor in the area. I noticed this post was from a few years ago. I work as an electrician in the oil field right now. I’m kinda in same situation, I like the money but I definitely want to have more time with my family and friends. I have one rental house that kinda accidental happened and I’m kinda hooked. How have things been going for you so far?

@Irwin Ayala

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!