New Member from Atlanta Georgia

23 Replies

I am new to real estate investment and looking to learn as much as possible in a short time. I hope you can help to point me in the right direction. I am looking for house to hold, flip and long term investments. I came to Georgia from New York City because my research shows that the prices for home here is more affordable and the expansion of the population here is creating a great demand/ market for homes. 

Hey @Althea Herlock  welcome to BiggerPockets! You've definitely come to the right place to learn more about investing. If you haven't yet, be sure to check out the The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Real Estate Investing and The BiggerPockets Podcast. They are both great at learning the fundamentals.

Oh - and don't forget to set up your Keyword Alerts!

See you around the site!

@Althea Herlock - Welcome to the vibrant BP community.

Your objective is to learn as much as possible in a short time, but, I hasten to remind you that REI is not a sprint race, but, a marathon.

Yes, as a New Yorker I clearly understand your logical reasoning for making the transition to Atlanta.

Good luck and best wishes with your REI activities.

Below, are some links that will get you acquainted with buy and hold as well as flip transactions.

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2014/01/07/flipping-houses/

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/02/22/buying-rental-property/

Lastly, this site thrives on interactions. As such, we encourage two way exchanges, look forward to educational and thought provoking ideas relevant to REI.

Joe Fairless

I just moved here in July.