New Invester, trying to overcome fear

17 Replies

Originally posted by @Zac Davis:

Hello Bigger Pockets community!

I am very new to all real estate investing. I have a personal residence in Boise, ID and one rental property in Indianapolis, IN that I purchased as a credit partner with my father, whom is a member of a real estate investment company out of Utah. 

My wife and I rely on my income, however i don't want to work for someone else my whole life and when my dad joined the REIC i thought that was the way to go. 

He has 4 properties himself, but that has taken him 6 years to get, and I know its possible to grow a nice portfolio faster, so I think the REIC is holding him back. they mak it really easy on him but this is supposed to be his retirement and as of now its going to take too long. 

In my position I found BP and love it! I have ripped through as much information as possible and listen to the podcast as often as I can. I see this being my future but can also see myself standing on the outside dreaming rather than jumping in because I let the fear of losing get in the way. 

any advise is welcome, personal stories of how you all got over the fear for your first deal and so on. 

Thank you all, cant wait to get more involved in the community!

Welcome @Zac Davis !  The best way I know how is to listen to those that are where you want to be, and by taking action.  The first deal may not be perfect - in fact it probably won't be.  Are you looking to buy and hold right here in Boise?  Or out of state?

Jonna Webber, thanks for the response.