Newbie from Central Michigan area

14 Replies

Hello Everyone! My name is Lauren Baker and I am currently a college student at Central Michigan University. I have always been interested in home renovations, and am currently looking into buying a two unit rental property to flip. I am currently seeking to gain experience in Buy and Hold Investing, and Multifamily Investing. I am also actively involved in non-profit work and would like to become more engaged with the issue of affordable housing. 

@Lauren Baker First off. Welcome to BP! Get started reading as many blogs and forum posts as you can. Get your keyword alerts set up to help you find new forum posts when they become available. And listen to the podcasts. @Joshua Dorkin and @Brandon Turner are hilarious and they have tons of great info with their guests. 

What do you mean by "affordable housing"? And if you're not stuck in the dorms I would suggest finding a duplex or triplex and learn how to manage property and get your housing paid for at the same time while doing so. It may be a little added stress now but it'll be worth it in the end once you move on to other or more properties. 

-Joe

Thanks for the tips, @Joe Ellis! By affordable housing I mean that besides making profits from REI, I also want to work with groups such as Habitat For Humanity to use my skills to also give back to the community.

I currently live in an apartment with friends during the school year, but next year I will be living with with my boyfriend full time in a duplex. We have been fixing our unit up with reimbursements from our landlord, but are looking further into buying the house. 

Thank you @Matt Pippin for your tip as well.