31 yr old Newbie in Houston, Texas

9 Replies

Hello everybody. Well I've been looking at getting into real estate lately to reach my long term goals. I stumbled upon the podcasts, and have started at number 1 and working my way down the list. Since my brother and his wife have started renting their first house they own.

Well my background, I've had multiple jobs and am still looking for what I want to do in life. Right now I am a turbine mechanic assistant. I travel between Texas and Louisiana working at power plants living on the road. We work anywhere from 8 hours a day to 12 hour days. And then we have a dead seasons where we could be off for a couple of months straight. So that's why I would like to get into the rental aspect of investing. I would have to have a management company do everything for me since I travel so much and am gone for months on end.

My goals are to buy my first single family house this year and get it up on the market so I can start having a steady positive income of money to put away. Like rich dad poor dad says to put back into the house and have it stay there. So it's self sustaining on its own income. I would like to work up from that point. Having multiple single family houses and even a multi family plex 3 or 4. So I could have one of the units to live in when I'm not out on the road.

I thank y'all in advance for all the help guidance, and knowledge that I will get from everybody here.

Austin Smith

Welcome to BP, @Austin Smith ! I'm new to this also, living in Louisiana and traveling to Houston a lot. 

The podcasts are awesome, as you have found. Check out the guides and search for interesting stuff in the forums. LOTS of knowledge shared there.

Austin,  your plan is solid.  No time like the present to get started.  What steps have you taken so far?   I suggest getting preapproved through an investor friendly lender.  Next identify the area you are interested in investing.  Then its time to find the deal. 

To your success!