Marketing campaign or agent for 1031 exchange?

14 Replies

Hi everyone,    I am very excited to be here.  I have wanted to try real estate investing for awhile, and I have decided the time is now to get out there and make things happen.  I have one rental property that I am going to sell and use the proceeds to invest in a small multifamily apartment building in Colorado.  

Should I use a real estate agent or a marketing campaign to find the other half of my 1031 exchange?

Hi Sharon, There are several options available. I am a realtor and would advise the assistance to help with your purchase either way you do it. There are several properties that are discussed in private at some of the local Real Estate investor groups and some great properties on the MLS also. If you would like to have a conversation about your options, I would be more than happy to discuss some of the options out there.

Kevin Grinstead

@Sharon Owens the tight time lines of the 1031 make a direct mail marketing campaign tough to pull off unless you start well before your actual sale.  But that being said I'd use every avenue available to you so you can get the perfect replacement

I could be wrong but I think a 1031 requires a 45-day window to sell and buy a new one.  @Dave Foster... Point about tight time lines... I also have a client that may benefit from a 1031 ... any one have some experience in this quick turn around

@Nate Wightman , the time lines can be tricky.  @Mark Creason nails them above.  The issues you'll face will not have anything to do with the documentation or preparation of the 1031.  The difficulty (but fortunately the one you as the broker or investor have control over) is the location of the new property.