How do I get started?

6 Replies

Hi, my name is Joseph, and I'm brand new to real estate investing. I'm very excited about this, because I view it as a way to optimize my opportunity cost in life. I want to be able to build a strong foundation, and fully understand every aspect of this business. I will not fail, that's not an option for me. I am also seeking a mentor, and would be more than happy to work for someone for free, in exchange for knowledge about the business. I am glad to be apart of this community!

Welcome to BiggerPockets, @Joseph Hopkins . The best place to start, when you're brand new to the site, is The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Investing in Real Estate. This guide was written by Brandon and Josh, and gives you an excellent overview into different types of real estate investing.

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

@Joseph Hopkins  

Once you do a small hunk of education, I would suggest that you get a written plan down. What do you want in this field. Buy and hold, flipping.  Do the long game and figure out your WHY.  That will keep you motivated through the long boring parts. 

Good luck out there and take massive action! 

@Joshua D.

Thanks a lot for the information! Yes, I will definitely take action. Right now I am focusing on educating myself, and networking to build personal relationships with people. Thanks again.

Joseph

Hi @Joseph Hopkins !

I would second @Mindy Jensen 's advice of starting with The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Investing in Real Estate, it's a great place to discover the different methods of investing you might be interested in, then you can move on from there! After reading through that myself, I really enjoyed reading @Brandon Turner 's books that you can find here on BiggerPockets under the Education tab,  in "Books & Resources".