New to Bigger Pockets

18 Replies

Hey There,

I'm new to real estate investing. Currently living in NY (temporarily) but I'd like to invest out of market, which I know is probably not recommended for beginners, but I'm open to it.

I've been reading some of the Bigger Pocket books and they talk about Turnkey Properties, which sounds interesting, but not sure if those properties usually cashflow well enough if you're paying a premium for the property + the company to manage it? I've thought that it might be an option for a couple markets I've liked in the suburbs of Chicago or Milwaukee 

My wife and I are also considering a move to Philadelphia to raise our family and I thought maybe it makes sense to start there, but I'm not sure how strong the market is there right now. From what I understand the school systems are lackluster and job market is so-so. 

Just looking for a few pointers and perhaps some help finding the right direction

Thanks!

@Rob Bianco

Welcome and investing out of state can be good if you have a solid team in place.  I have been investing out of state for a decade now and I can tell you having a good team is crucial.  

I would attend some REI meetings as New York has quite a few. It doesn't hurt to meet others in the business and pick their brains.

Best of luck!

Originally posted by @Rob Bianco :

Hey There,

I'm new to real estate investing. Currently living in NY (temporarily) but I'd like to invest out of market, which I know is probably not recommended for beginners, but I'm open to it.

I've been reading some of the Bigger Pocket books and they talk about Turnkey Properties, which sounds interesting, but not sure if those properties usually cashflow well enough if you're paying a premium for the property + the company to manage it? I've thought that it might be an option for a couple markets I've liked in the suburbs of Chicago or Milwaukee