New member Philadelphia PA Looking for guidance

6 Replies

Hello my name is Shawn I'm a Philadelphia carpenter looking to purchase homes in or around Philadelphia area. I'm fairly young and have little understanding of how these processes work. I read a lot about people buying homes and selling them and all kinds of terms being thrown around it's quite intimidating. A co worker of mine got me hooked a few years ago on something called a sheriff sale I've done some research but the process seems risky I would like to look into these further. For instance if I have a question about something say a tax delinquent sale how does this work exactly do you essentially pay that persons taxes and if they don't pay them within that year you will own that property? It's hard to find these answers clearly. I have lots of questions probably buried in these forums somewhere but I would like to know how and where to get started I've saved a lot of money and would like to further secure my future. Thanks for any help just throwing all this out maybe someone can help me out. Shawn

Hey @Shawn C.

Welcome aboard! We are happy that you have joined BP! I can't wait for you to get started. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or clarifications. We are always happy to help!

Hey thanks I'm really excited to learn more about this I got carried away on my first post i never noticed the whole section allotted to foreclosures and reos.

@Shawn C. welcome to BP!  Some advice:

1) Start by finding one or more real estate agents in the area who can help you locate properties.  BP is a great source of knowledge but nothing beats having someone you are working directly with who is experienced with investors.  A good agent can help you locate properties that make sense for your criteria, and a great agent will have a source for off-market investment deals too.