Newbie Dives into Residential Assisted Living Facilities

4 Replies

I've gotten interested in Residential Assisted Living Facilities (RALs or RALFs). Gene Guarino has been doing a great job of selling the idea. So I'm in!

But I'm a newbie to real estate, and the more I learn the more intimidated I feel. I'll be starting a new business, licensing, buying property, rehabbing, staffing, marketing, etc. When I looked into opening RALs in North Carolina, where I live, I learned that all new RALs here for over 6 people require a CON, a Certificate Of Need. The CON application alone is a sweet nonrefundable $5,000 to $50,000. And our region's analyst, the one that reviews the CONs, told me "...no application would be accepted..."

She's harshing my buzz!

Rewind! I should follow Gene's example. He started by buying an existing facility. So I went online to find them. Thank goodness there is a directory of licensed RALs online on my state website. I'll be calling!

Surprise! I was checking out prices for a facility on SeniorAdvisor.com (had to give my name, email and phone number), and got a call _one_second_ after I hit enter. I kid you not! 

Now that's customer service!

Hi, Paula and congrats on your new business!  it sounds great. I am thinking of looking into them here in Cleveland, Oh where I live.  I've seen quite a few popping up and they seem to do very well.  As a UPS driver, I often deliver to them so I've seen them inside and have started talking to the managers, staff and the residence.  I wish you well in your endeavor they are greatly needed. 

@Paula Willis that’s awesome! I am interested in these facilities also. I have heard of Gene but haven’t done too much research into him but I am familiar with Group Home Riches. Anyone have any experience with Gene or Group Home Riches? 

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover