First post and a question!

13 Replies

Hi, my name is Keith and I'm new to BiggerPockets. I live in the Everett area of Washington state. I found the BiggerPockets podcast about a month ago and have listened to the first 30 and plan on listening to all of them. I have been somewhat of an investor for 15 years.  I read all the books when I was younger and started out in my early 20's.  I currently have 2  investment properties. The first one is a single family that I have about 110k equity in that I bought in 2000.   The second is a duplex that I have about 140k equity in that I bought in 2002.  Basically I have always rented them for below market rents which kind of forced me to be almost a slum lord.  I'm going to fix up my properties and get the rents up to market rates.

Duplex mortgage is 283,000 and the ARV $425,000 and should be able to cash flow around $800 per month.

House mortgage is $262,000 and the ARV $375,000 and should be able to cash flow around $300 per month.

I guess my question is what would other investors do after doing that if you were in my place?  I am interested in buying more but currently there is few multi family units available to buy. I'm also not sure about my options for financing since I did have to short sale another one of my properties  in 2013 but my credit score is still 720.

Originally posted by @Keith Eke :