Newbie from Wichita, Kansas

12 Replies

Hey BP community, I am new to real estate investing and am glad that I found bigger pockets to help me learn, network, and grow. I grew up in the Midwest and am 23 years old, about to close on my first deal which is a househacked duplex. I work full time at QuikTrip and am working towards earning a business degree as a full time student. After reading dozens of real estate books I have decided to set my focus on acquiring small multifamily properties of 2-4 units and a long term rental strategy. I will be closing on my first deal in two weeks and plan to house hack a duplex in Wichita, Kansas to gain experience as a landlord while living for free. A year from now I would like to own atleast 3 multifamily properties and have made it my long term goal to become financially free by the time I am 28 years old (5 years from now). I became interested in real estate investing after I tried my hand in the stock market and didn't come out as well as I hoped. Research about other investments led me to "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" and changed my perspective completely. I am excited to officially begin my journey in real estate investing in a few weeks and have made up my mind to stick this thing out and try and learn until it works. Though I have only been in the full time workforce for three years, I am already over punching the clock day in and day out. My "why" is that I want to take control of my time and spend it doing the things I love and with the people that matter the most. -Jake Henderson

Welcome! It looks like you are off to a terrific start and you certainly have the right mindset to succeed. If you are looking for other investors in the area I have had good luck at the local REIA meetings. Hope to meet you there!