New Investor in the Military

8 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Joe. I am an active duty army officer that has lived in many states. I do my best to purchase and live in a single family home every time I move. I then rent out the house before I buy another one. I currently have a house in Harker Heights, TX and Fairfax, VA; both are maintained by property managers. I typically buy houses that are in good school districts because in general good school districts have very nice neighborhoods that make the house easy to rent out. I am interested to hear new strategies to finding good rentals though! I live in the Baltimore, MD area, but will be moving to the Albany, NY area in a couple months. I am interested in the idea of using creative financing to generate passive income through real estate. I generate some income with my two rental properties, but would like to look into purchasing more than one rental property each time I move. I'm most comfortable with buying and renting out single family homes, but am open to the ideas of flipping homes and purchasing multi-family properties.

Thanks @Jeremy Taggart ! I have used my VA loan for my first two homes. At this point, I think I've maxed out my ability to use that loan vehicle unless I were to sell or refinance my other properties. I'm still learning about the refinance process though.

@Demario Scott If you are/have been in the military it makes more sense to use VA on a multifamily over conventional or FHA. 0% down payment and no mortgage insurance on up to 4 units. You can normally only have 1 at a time, unless under certain circumstances you can have more than 1 if you relocate, etc.

@Joe Bostick

I want to start with the words of GRATITUDE for your service!