New Member & want to put myself on the right track - Charlotte NC

4 Replies

Hello!

I'm a recent college graduate from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (This past May) who has been lucky enough to both graduate with no student debt and secure a job in the Charlotte area. I've been looking into ways to stay on top of my finances and set myself up for a stable future. One of the ways I plan to do this is by investing in real estate. I have been reading a lot and have decided that I would find a multi-family property in which I could attempt to house hack. I am currently in the process of going through Brandon Turner's The Book on Rental Property Investing: How to Create Wealth and Passive Income Through Smart Buy & Hold Real Estate Investing and it has really inspired me to take action and learn by doing. As I will soon be relocating to the area, I was hoping I would not have to rent, but rather own a property. The main issues I have is that I am not familiar with the area nor its real estate market. I have taken a look at the mls listings and craigslist listings of both Charlotte and its nearby suburban areas but have found very few multi-family properties between 2-4 units in which I could get an FHA loan for. In the next few weeks I plan on attending any networking events and meetups that I can and furthering my education with more books and the BiggerPockets podcast. In the meantime, I was wondering if there was anyone who has done anything similar that would be willing to share some advice or even their own story. I hope to learn a lot from everyone here at BiggerPockets and be able to get the knowledge and experience to help others who want to start their journey in real estate as well.