Newbie Looking for advice

11 Replies

Hello BP, My name is Dominique and I am trying to break into the real estate investment world. I live in Milwaukee, WI. My goal is to invest in buy and hold multi-units apartments. I also somewhat have an interest of wholesaling and thought that it would be a good way to starting out to help me get to my goal of buy and hold multi-units. I would like any advice, suggestions or anything that could help me learn the business of real estate. I also would love to attend any local meet ups and events. I would love to be a mentee to learn hands on. I am also a veteran and would love advice and tips on ways I could use that to help. Thank You everybody for your help.

Welcome to BP, @Dominique Papillion ! I am also relatively new and am just starting to learn the ropes in investing. Have you looked for your local REIA group in Milwaukee? That's where I would start... I attended my very first REIA meeting in NWI (Northwest Indiana) last night, and it was a game changer.

The people I met, the questions asked, and the resources available in my local area - they are already reshaping my idea of what investing will look like for me. 

Before the meeting, I wanted to do small multi-family and house hacking in NWI as my first investment, but I'm reconsidering based on the wisdom of seasoned investors in that REIA group. Now, I've adjusted my strategy to look for SFR in very specific towns between 50-70k that would be worth 100-110k after renovations.

Best of luck on your journey! BP is the place to be. :)

@Dominique Papillion hello and welcome to BiggerPockets!

BP is the ultimate real estate investing site around! There are so many cool and exciting things going on.

For starters, you have the free informative forums to read and learn about real estate.

Second, you can network with any real estate investor both new and experienced.

Third, you will learn how to get deals done the right way.