New Investor in the DMV area

9 Replies

Hello BP Community! I'm new to real estate investing, and was looking for some insight on the best strategy to start with as a new investor. I've been told wholesaling is the way to go starting out. Any insight would be greatly appreciated! 

Also, any local investors in the PG County or Baltimore area that wouldn't mind helping a newbie figure it out, please DM me! I'm anxious to get started, but only with the correct knowledge and guidance - I know this business makes or breaks people.  

Hey Jamal, welcome to BP! The best strategy really depends on your goals e.g. single family buy and hold can be great for long term wealth building and is a fairly stable asset class where as flipping can get you capital quickly but can be riskier. In terms of wholesaling, there is an ongoing debate about whether it is technically legal or not (if you search wholesaling in the search bar I believe Brandon Turner put out a large article about this).

Also, I know there is a real estate investors meeting in Baltimore. I live right outside of Baltimore but haven't personally been as my work hours fluctuate. I would recommend starting there and meeting/networking. Best of luck!