Newbie from Albuquerque, New Mexico

11 Replies

Hello everyone,

I have been listening to the podcast for a couple weeks now and feel like there is no better time to start than right now! I am a recent college graduate from UNM with my bachelors in Economics. I am currently underwriting insurance with a local provider, but I'm not trying to be in the insurance industry forever. I am dedicated to building a diverse portfolio over my lifetime that will include single family, multi-family, commercial, and land. My dad is a former general contractor who owns various properties around the state, which has given me a lot of great exposure to rental income, flipping, and managing property. I own my own condo that I purchased as a gutted-out foreclosure for 17k and have remodeled to be my current residence. I am looking to house hack or live in flip in the next 2-5 years.

My long term goal in life is to build a permaculture food forest and community of friends and family to live in harmony and cooperation with our environment and each other. 

Michael

Michael, welcome to BP. I started on BP approximately 4 years ago and have learned most everything I know from the podcasts, forums and BP recommended books. Doesn't get any better than this site and the people on it. Wish you the best, and let me know if I can help in any way!

Welcome @Michael Landgraf ! The REI community in ABQ has been active and growing. Glad to see another investor in NM. Make sure to check out the local meetups: meetup.com/abqreia , meetup.com/acrenm, I don't have the link to the other one. Let us know if you have any questions.