Wrong time to acquire rentals?

12 Replies

Hello, David Noble here. I live in Lexington Ky. My day job is residential renovations. I’ve been doing high end kitchens and baths for the last twelve years. I “house hacked” my previous home which had an apartment over the detached garage. We moved out of the house, which I had fully renovated, last year and kept the property. Now I rent the apartment as well as the house. The two units combined make a nice profit over the mortgage. And it’s led me to the realization I need more properties.

That idea led me to BP podcasts, which in turn led me here. Ultimately I would like the passive income of more rentals. But I’m tentative to buy/hold at the top of the market. So I’m also thinking of flips. I have a lot to learn. I have a lot of questions. So here I am.

Everyone has their own speculations about what the housing market will do. And it depends on your local area. But interest rates are moving up along with home price-- sounds like an equation for more renters and less home ownership.

Ancient Chinese proverb :

Best time to plant tree is twenty years ago
Second best time to plant tree is now

People that are successful don’t sit and wait around for things to happen - they get going and make things happen . As long as there is divorce death illness unemployment etc..There will always be deals to be had even at the top of the market . Now that being said most of those good deals won’t be listed on the MLS so you may need to be creative

You make money on the purchase.... if you buy smart there will always be deals. I can tell you the market in KC for example is all over the place. Flips... to many people that have no idea what they are doing bid up the prices. Buy and hold same way, but it's desperate investors or locals looking for place.  Search hard enough though, you can still make deals happen.