New member looking for lender advice

4 Replies

Hi everyone, been loving the biggerpockets podcasts and wanted to introduce myself on the forums.

A little about my wife (Ashley) and my situation.

-owned our primary residence for 4 years

-interested in making an offer on a friend's fixer property, they selling due to devorce.

- owe 330000 on our house it is worth 480000

Looking to cash out refinance to put down payment on a new loan

Quick question

I have submitted cash out refinance applications with usbank (our current mortgage holder) and peeny Mac online.

Any suggestions of other places to look for a down payment for a new house. We plan to rent out our now primary residence and live and fix up this other home.

Is it a bad idea to shop for refinance and pick the best deal or will most be equal. 

Once we get a cash out approval we will be looking into prequalifying to make an offer

Hope I wrote this ok. I'm very new to investing in real estate and would love some help. 

Thanks,

Travis and Ashley

Hi Travis,

For a start, I think it's a great idea to start with refinancing your primary residence! 

Other options include:

• retirements accounts
  • private lenders (like your friends and family)
  • personal loans

But refinance would be my first bet as well. Shop around for better terms that work for you and go for it!

Which type of lending are you planning to get for the fixer property?

Hey Travis, sounds like a good start using that equity for a second property.  A few other things to consider:

-If your plan is to mortgage the second property you should verify beforehand that the refinance on your current primary residence won't push your debt to Income ratio too high to get approval on the new mortgage.  Someone correct me on this if I'm wrong but in your situation I don't believe a lender will count the potential rental income of your current primary residence if you're still living there while applying for a mortgage on the second.