Advice for a Newbie with only $5,000

21 Replies

Hello BP people!

I'm new to real estate investing but have long loved the of land-lordship, architecture, anything real-estate basically.  I've finally decided to start investing in real estate.  I'm am currently only worth my savings account which is roughly $5,000.  I've been considering buying some C class properties around $100,000 or less with minimal repair that would also hopefully be close to the 1% rule.  The only problem is that it seems like I need $20,000 dollars to get something like this.  I could roughly save up that amount in 2 years but am itching to get into the game now.  (I've been looking in the Alabama area as of recently.)  I thought about borrowing money from a family member but I would have to pay them back which means I would have a property now but would then have to wait another year or two before I could make my next move.  If I have to borrow money to get a cash flow property and spend a few years paying that person back maybe I should invest in a B class property instead or even just a plot of land.  I'm not sure what I should do at this point.

I was hoping to get some advice or ideas on how to get started with such a low amount, anyone who did get started with little money or any advice or ideas available.  I appreciate any help.

(I should note that I live in Japan so buying a house and living in it is not an option for me.)

Sincerely,

Cory Ballantyne

I think you should focus more on the cash flow for that property instead of worrying about buying it in a B class or C class. Get familiar with all the expenses and get to know what houses similar to the one you want rent out for.