New to REI looking to house hack or for multi-family

11 Replies

Hi everyone. My name is Charlene. I work as a Physician Assistant in the Bay Area, but am really looking to start investing in real estate and building my passive income.  My 5 year goal is to make enough in passive income to quit my job in order to spend more time with my two kids, travel more, and secure retirement. 

I'm brand new to REI, but have been listening to the BP Podcasts nonstop during my daily commutes and am extremely motivated to get going with this. Ideally to start, I would like to house hack a 2-4 unit property, but it feels nearly impossible here in the Bay Area given the crazy housing prices. I am partnering up with a friend, but don't know how to make it a fair proposition. Does anyone have any suggestions?

If house hacking doesn't pan out, we are also looking at buying a small multi-family (again 2-4 units) in several areas, including Sacramento, CA; Reno, NV; Everett, WA; Tacoma, WA.  If anybody has any contacts to start building our core 4 in these areas, it would be greatly appreciated.

Can't wait to get started!  Thanks everyone!

Charlene welcome to BP!! Congrats on taking your first step in REI and creating a plan for your future. I would partner with a professional REA who can give you and your partner a realistic idea of what you can afford and how much the "cost of money" will be for you two considering your individual situations. From there you can begin to limit your search based on your price point and that can provide some clarity on the situation. Quick rule of thumb in REI is the "1% rule" which is simply, a good rental property will rent for 1% of the purchase price. Right now in California that's VERY VERY few and far between. House hacking may be your best bet to build equity, and maybe refi to pull funds or continue to save and put yourself in the best position a year or so from now to make the move to strictly investment props!! Again best of luck