New Teacher From California

15 Replies

Hello all at BP, 

My name is Kyle and I just received my M.A. in Education, teaching PE in the Bay Area in California. I am highly debating taking a job offer to teach in the San Diego area. After lurking on BP for a month or so listening to podcasts and reading forums, I have finally decided to join! I will admit now that my profession combined with my expensive market can force me out of buying properties anytime soon, but my motivation and interest in this field has overcome that fear. I'm ready to put myself out there.

A little about me: I'm a 25 year old teacher, eager to get into the real estate investing arena. I also have a B.A. in Economics, but chose teaching due to the enjoyment I get out of it. I enjoy sports, playing guitar, and the beach.

I have completed the 135 hour real estate salesperson course through Rockwell Institute, and really felt like I learned a lot. The course combined with my BP lurking has got me feeling quite confident with the real estate lingo, different types of loans, and the basic concepts. 

My main investment interest is in rentals. I've really gravitated towards multifamily properties because I like the idea of living next to my tenants (hopefully rent free). My goal is to own quite a few flourishing properties in order to have financial freedom and eventually move towards part-time teaching and more full-time investing and looking after my properties!

@Kyle Marek If you do end up in SD I would highly suggest you think about vacation rentals. If you could live in one unit (use an FHA loan to only have to put 3% down) you could manage the other units as short term rentals (STR). Just a thought.

Thanks for the advice, Ryan. Do you think the ROI on a vacation rental could be higher than leasing? I assume you mean the units could be rented out through Airbnb. Would vacancy be something I would have to worry about more using the units as vacation rentals rather than leasing?