New member in GA - Interest in Tax Liens & Deeds

13 Replies

Hello all - I am new to Bigger Pockets which looks like an interesting forum.  I am a Tax Lien & Tax Deed investor.  Always looking for new investments, insights, opportunities, partnerships, ideas, support and am glad to help.  I live in GA and will invest almost anywhere in the country. Glad to share more, but thought this is a good start.

HI @Seth Deitchman ! Welcome to the BiggerPockets family! You came to the right place to learn all about real estate investing! Here are some recommendations for you:

Find and connect with other BP members that are in your area: http://www.biggerpockets.com/meet

Set up keyword alerts to be notified of the topics that interest you: http://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts

Read Beginner’s Guide: http://www.biggerpockets.com/real-estate-investing

Check out BP Podcasts: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/category/podcast

Hello @Seth Deitchman and welcome to the sight, I find tax leans an interesting strategy. What do you find the top 4 biggest challenges with buying properties at tax auctions?  Thank you for your time.

Marlon, thanks for the tips!

Georgui, here are my thoughts on the biggest challenges:

1- time: not enough time to research all the properties. 

2- other investors: sometimes other investors just pay too much...in my opinion. They have their strategies. 

3- location: I would like to be in more places than I am able to be. I find it very difficult to buy liens, deeds or redeemable deeds in locations I have not seen or have someone to survey the property for me. 

4- not sure...maybe knowing the different rules at each county auction. 

I’d like to hear your opinions. 

I have witnessed a few tax auctions but I have not purchased any. I have had a few conversations with people that have. From what I gather.