A quick introduction

15 Replies

Hey guys, I'm new on BiggerPockets and just wanted to give a quick hello and introduce myself.  My name is Steve Sarro, I'm a carpenter originally from the SF Bay Area and I've been living in Louisville, KY for the past two years.  I relocated due to crazy housing costs and I love my new city!  I've been successfully self-employed as a handyman/carpenter since I arrived and I'm excited about getting involved with real estate investing.  I'm still in the process of educating myself about the basics, but I hope to eventually use my skills and knowledge as a builder to gain "sweat equity" in my future investments.  I'm interested in networking with other builders-turned-investors, Kentucky/Indiana investors, and anyone with valuable advice and insight.  See you around!

@Steve Sarro welcome to REI and the BP community. You have definitely come to the right place to learn all about REI. Go to your local REIA meetings. They have a great group up there. Good luck in all your future REI ventures.

@Dan Barli   Hey Dan!  At this stage I think it makes sense for me to generate income and build capital, so I might focus on creative wholesaling until I have the means to acquire a property I can flip and get the ball rolling.

@Jim Wilcox Hey Jim!  Thanks, I'm planning on attending some local meetups I see coming up in the next few weeks.

@Jordan Moorhead Hey Jordan! I'd love to ultimately be able to do the BRRRR method, but my biggest hurdle will be getting loans without being a W-2 employee. Currently seeking a workaround for that issue...

Welcome @Steve Sarro ! You'll have lots of contacts from BiggerPockets, for sure!

Also be sure to attend your local REIA meetings which you can find on NationalREIA.com and find any local investors you can through MeetUp.com.